Council & Committees

The BDIA is governed by elected Council representatives, and a range of Committees to focus on key activities.


The BDIA Council sets the Association’s objectives and strategy to ensure we are well positioned to meet future business needs. The current council members are:

From Left to right:

Paul Adams DD Group
Mike Cann (Honorary Treasurer) Septodont Ltd
Michael Farrow SDI Dental Ltd
Patrick Allen Henry Schein
Stuart Thompson George Warman Publications
Dean Hallows (President)  Dentsply Sirona
Sonia Tracey W&H (UK) Ltd
Daniel Davis J&S Davis Ltd
Gail Vernon (Vice President)  VSM Healthcare
Ken Finlayson FMC
Ian Pope Dürr Dental
*Matthew Turner A-Dec Dental UK

* Not pictured


The President, Vice-President and Honorary Treasurer are ex-officio members of all committees. 

Finance & Executive

The Finance and Executive Committee is responsible for overseeing the domestic affairs of the  Association and managing our assets.

Daniel Davis (Chairman)  J&S Davis Ltd
Mike Cann Septodont Ltd
Dean Hallows Dentsply Sirona
Edmund Proffitt   BDIA
Sonia Tracey   W&H (UK) Ltd



The Editorial Committee is responsible for the publication of Dental Insider (formerly Dental Trader), our quarterly magazine for employees of our member companies.

Eddie MacKenzie (Chairman) George Warman Publications
Sophie Chalk EK Communications
Julian English FMC
Gail Vernon​ VSM Healthcare
Ed Hunt Purple Media Solutions
Rebecca Hutton/Charlotte White Denplan, part of Simplyhealth
Jane MacRae Henry Schein Dental



The Export Committee is responsible for identifying and facilitating export opportunities for our members. It does not have a formal membership but meets as required to discuss specific opportunities.

The Export Committee is open to all BDIA members with an interest in exporting.

Mark Sanderson (Chairman) Advanced Healthcare Ltd




The Statistics Committee is responsible for sourcing, compiling and distributing statistics to our members.

Kate Scheer (Chairman) W&H (UK)
Mark Allen Coltène Ltd
Eybi Becerra Dentsply Sirona
Alex Breitenbach NSK UK Ltd
Daniel Davis J&S Davis Ltd
Peter Gowers DMG Dental Products (UK) Ltd
Edyta Klonowska-Koech 3M United Kingdom PLC
Grant Long Henry Schein Dental
Charlotte Main A-dec Dental UK
Chris Mason Hu-Friedy
Gemma Osment DD Products and Services Ltd
Nigal Rutter Wright Health Group Ltd