BDIA Award

Acknowledging the outstanding contribution of members to the dental sector.

BDIA Award

The BDIA Award was introduced in 2007 to acknowledge the outstanding contribution of a member of the industry to the dental sector.

All previous winners were recognised for dedication and innovation in their fields or commitment to charitable causes (please note there was no award in 2014), and include:

Recent Winners


Chris Brown

Chris was the manging director of GC UK, starting in the UK on April 1st 1993. He retired on 1st September 2019 after spending over 30 years in the dental trade. He worked alone during those first few years covering the length and breadth of the country. After that initial success Chris, then went on to support the dental profession both in practices and in dental schools, offering educational materials, products and his wealth of knowledge.


Michael Cann

Mike has been involved with the dental sector since he started training as a dental technician in 1982. He then moved on to hold commercial positions with Bracon, and Dentsply, before joining Septodont, where he now holds the position of Managing Director.

Previous Winners


Richard Muller


Terry Prodger


David Butterfield


John Siebert


Tony Anderson


Terry Abbott


Brian Schottlander


Martin Mills


John Davis


Norman Freedman

Nominations for 2018 

Nominees must be members of the industry and only BDIA members may submit nominations. The BDIA only awards this Honour to one candidate each year; as such nominees should have made a truly remarkable impact on the dental industry.

Nomination forms are available from Edmund Proffitt.

Click here